Hope Barkoukis, PhD, RDN, LD, FAND

Hope Barkoukis photo

Hope Barkoukis

Chair, Department of Nutrition

Case Western Reserve University

Hope is a licensed, registered dietitian, Associate Professor, and Chair of the Department of Nutrition in the School of Medicine at CWRU, a past Board member for The Academy of Nutrition & Dietetics and faculty lead for the Jack, Joseph, Morton Mandel Wellness & Preventive Care Pathway for medical students. Prior to joining CWRU she developed nutrition and wellness programs for Fortune 500 companies, completed advanced professional culinary training and presented hundreds of nutrition education presentations incorporating culinary demonstrations for television, professional and community audiences. Hope has received many teaching awards for her engaging and energetic teaching style including the 2019 Outstanding Dietetic Educator from NDEP and the Ohio Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, Top Prof, and the John S. Diekman Graduate Award for teaching excellence. In 2017, she was one of the nominees for the Carl Witte Excellence in undergraduate teaching award. In 2016 she received the Professional Achievement Award from the 7,000 member organization, SCAN: Sports, Cardiovascular and Wellness nutrition practice group, (www.scandpg.org). Additionally, Hope was appointed by the CWRU Board of Trustees as the inaugural recipient of the Jack, Joseph, Morton Mandel Professorship in Wellness and Preventative Care, 2016-2021. In February, 2018 the Pathway received an award for Innovation in Teaching future health care professionals from the Alliance for a Healthier Generation,https://www.healthiergeneration.org/take_action/businesses/healthcare/innovation_award_for_health_care_provider_training_and_education/
Hopes research areas include aging, glucose metabolism, the glycemic index, sports nutrition and liver disease. Currently Hope is co-investigator for an NIH study investigating a healthy lifestyle intervention in preparation for pregnancy in obese women..


All times are listed in Eastern Time.